Kdrama Review: Cheer Up / Sassy Go Go~

Sassy,_Go_Go_(Cheer_Up!)_Promotional_poster

Title: Cheer Up/Sassy Go Go 

Cast:

  • Jung Eun Ji as Kang Yeon-Doo
  • Lee Won Geun as Kim Yeol
  • Chae Soo Bin as Kwon Soo-A
  • Cha Hak Yeon as Ha Dong Jae
  • Ji Soo as Seo Ha-Joon
  • Kim Min Ho as Min Hyo-Sik
  • Kang Min Ah as Park Da-Mi
  • Son Bum Joon as Cha Seung-Woo
  • Ooon as Joon-Soo
  • Park Yoo Na as Kim Kyung-Eun
  • Shin Jae Ha as Choi Tae-Pyung
  • Kang Gureum as Kim Na Yeon
  • Jung Hae Na as Han Jae-Young
  • Kim Ji Suk as Yang Tae-Bum

Synopsis:

Kang Yeon Do is at the bottom of her school academic wise. She puts everything in ‘Real King’, the dance club that she is in. When ‘ Real King ‘ was abolished and the only way to get it back is to join the Cheer-leading team ‘Baek Ho’, she decides to cheer lead with the people she hates most, the top 5% of the school.

Review:

Sassy-Go-Go_1560x872.jpg

Ever since School 2013, I’ve been really into high school dramas and this does not disappoint at all! Even though this drama is a little shorter than your typical 16 episode drama, it does not stop it from showing its potentials. For starters, I would like to say that 12 episode should be the ideal length for dramas since it’s long enough for the plot to develop and short enough to avoid fillers. You have no idea how happy I was to find a drama that doesn’t have filler episodes that drag the pace of the drama.

sassy-go-go-chae-soo-bin-stills1

It’s amazing how one year can change a person. Thinking about how Soo Ah was in the middle and then the end. I think it’s an excuse if people say they can’t change just because they’ve always been like the way they are. In this way, this drama is an inspiring one. It also tells us to live in the moment and I think it’s dead right. I really love the whole concept of the drama-the way it is about friendship, school and life.

I actually couldn’t believe that they all forgave Soo Ah in the end. I was honestly still annoyed at her cowardliness when she decided she wanted to end her life. I guess it takes hearts of gold to do this and the students at Sevit are full of them^^ Now that’s a true happy ending!

335

All the characters in Cheer Up! is lovable (maybe except Soo Ah) butKang Yeon Do is my favourite. She values friends and truth and even though she can get hurt, she does not hesitate to fight for what is right. I think even if she doesn’t do great academically, she will do great things in life. The students in ‘Real King’ are like Yeon Do in that friendship is important to them and I love how they teach the ‘Baek Ho’ kids that.

Sassy-Go-Go-Poster2

School dramas in kdramaland are often depressing since we all know that competition within the school is intense and therefore it is hard to male friends. This drama shows this aspect of the korean school system but kudos to the writers for using friendship as a symbol of hope for those students in their hard times. I think it’s quite sad as well since I thought the reason the writers wrote this kind of story is because that’s what missing in their school lives.

Sassy-Go-Go-4-520x293

The romance is this drama is no joke. You’d think that the romance wouldn’t be as strong since ‘they are just teens’ but clearly it is not the case. Of course there are hints of innocence and purity in the relationship between Yeon Do and Kim Yeol but you can tell that they are serious about each other (heck they even imagine what it would be like to live together!). I think their relationship is going to last a long time which is a good thing because I find with romance in teen dramas, it is hard to imagine them being together forever since the romance reminds me of poppy love and first love more than anything else.

SASSY-GO-GO

If I have to rate this, I would give it a 3.5 out of 5 for a drama in general and 4 out of 5 for a school drama. I really learned through this drama and it is such a fun and delightful little treat for Christmas. I don’t think anyone would complain about the pace but I think we would definitely have seriously second lead syndrome. Ha Joon and Yeon Do is actually more like the poppy love/ first love idea that I was talking about. They are so sweet together but I’d say I would still prefer Kim Yeol. Some people were arguing between banana milk (Kim Yeol) or strawberry milk (Dong Jae) but I was confused because Dong Jae was clearly not a love interest……may it’s just me….lol

tumblr_nwj1676ZLL1rzc5dao1_400

Side Note: What the hell, Korea? I’m discovering more and more cool things about you. You sell gummy bears in that enormous packet? Why isn’t this in Ireland??? I’m really craving gummy bears now T^T

Thank you for reading and comment below what you think of the drama! I’m so glad I finished this drama since I love Eun Ji and I wasn’t able to watch that during my exam period. Thanks again and I’ll see you guys soon^^

Leave a Reply

