Anime Review: Btooom!

 

fd16e4a8ada302acc780fcdc453838201349203837_full.jpg

Title: Btooom!

Synopsis: Ryota Sakamoto is a NEET (Not in Education, Employment or Training) who plays video games all day. He is considered a failure in real life but in the game ‘Btooom!’, he is one of the top 10 players in the world and the best player in Japan. One day, he wakes up with his memory lost and with him stranded on an island to play a real life version of Btooom.

Review:

btooom_top

Plot: When I first read the plot, it kinda reminds me of the anime version of hunger games but with bombs. It seemed interesting to me and after Sword Art Online, I was looking into more animes with video game plots. It was the right decision to give it a try! Though I was expecting an action anime, I didn’t realize how intense and gory this would be. Since it is a survival game and it’s a matter of you die or I die, this anime is full of suspense and constant tension. The anime does an amazing job at bringing out the atmosphere by bringing constant questions. Is he going to kill to survive? Will working together really work? Is Sakamoto really leaving the man behind? These questions gets us wondering who will betray who next and you can really trust anyone in that situation. I give the plot 4 out of 5.

Btooom-characters.jpg

Characters: The main characters are all admirable in their own way in this anime.I love the way Ryota thinks, people might think he is naive and that that’s his weakness but in my opinion, this is one of the reasons why he is still alive. His character developed the most in this anime. We see this near the end of the anime when he is being considerate of Himiko and not force her to do what he wants to do.

I just love love love the way at the beginning how each episode tells the background story of the upcoming characters. It is such a simple yet engaging way of telling us about the character and it’s hard to miss the back story since it is not told in bits and pieces. My favourites include Himiko and the psycho murderer kid.

I would give the characters 4 out of 5 for their development and like-ability. I’m really impressed with the depth of the characters since it is a 12 episode anime and that normally doesn’t give room for character growth.

BTOOOM-Sakamoto-Himiko-Sleeping-610x342

Romance: The romance between Himiko and Sakamoto is very sweet and delicate. Since Himiko’s past experience with men has traumatized her and she is not trusting any men. It is rather delightful to see her slowly open up to Sakamoto and begin to overcome her trauma. The fact that these two are married in the video game makes this couple even more special in my heart!

maxresdefault (1).jpg

Music: The music in this anime is definitely above average with its catchy opening and heartfelt ending. I love the lyrics of the opening. The whole idea of challenging your fate and not admitting defeat really reflects the whole concept of the anime and I think this is one of the reason why anime music is so outstanding.

Conclusion: I would give this anime a strong 4.5 out of 5. I just can’t get enough of it! I’m going to read the manga to see what happens next because the ending is clearly open. I would recommend this anime to any action anime fans because there’s no doubt that it’s full of action. People who love Sword Art Online should totally check this out as well because that’s how I came across this anime.

Thank you guys for sticking around and I hope you like my post today^^ I  have so many reviews that I have to do but I just don’t know which one to do first! This is one of them so clearly that’s how much I love it 😀 Comment below if you have seen the anime and tell me what you think! 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

