TV Show Review: Scorpion

img-allshows-scorpion

Although I’m known for my love for Asian dramas, sometimes I like to be adventurous and explore dramas outside of Asia such as this little gem right here: Scorpion. I finished the first season two weeks ago and I’m up-to-date with the second season last week. Since I had my Christmas exams, I have no choice but to postpone this review even though I love it to bits! It’s really hard to get me into TV shows from outside of Asia so I’m genuinely impressed with this show!

Scorpion is about a group of four geniuses, Walter-the leader of the group with 197 IQ, Sylvester- the human calculator, Toby- the Harvard behaviorist and Happy- the mechanic prodigy, who forms a team with Agent Cabe Gallo- the government official in charge and Paige- an ordinary girl who works as the liaison person. Together they are Scorpion and they solve “mission impossibles” every episode.

CBS_SCORPION_101_CIAN_IMAGE_404462_640x360

A group of geniuses, solving cases, it sounds exciting already, isn’t it? Well, there’s no doubt that it’s as good as you think……or even better! Each episode is action-packed and full of tension and it just keeps you on the edge of your seat. There is a fine balance between humor, action and romance which engages you from the first minute of the show (okay maybe not the first minute……we don’t need the introduction of the scorpion team every single episode!) down to the very last.

Although it is awfully addicting (marathoned it) and engrossing, there seems to be a method to each episode. There always seem to be a format in which the O’Brien team ‘solves’ the case but then there’s some dramatic discovery that the case is indeed unsolved and after that, finally really solve the actual case. Maybe for their target audience who probably watch it weekly, this isn’t obvious but for us who loves marathoning, the method is definitely clear. I’m not complaining though since they actually do a decent job creating the climax episode-wise.

0564d4ec4885448fc55b26b11c1ae743

The humor in Scorpion is priceless! Toby is such a fun character that is what Happy described as wise-ass. His wise-assness is mostly the source of the humor and he delivers it perfectly! There are also plenty of science and maths jokes which I really appreciate. I like that the humor is present sometimes even in serious situations which helps to create a less serious adult crime atmosphere and more of a family-friendly fun crime atmosphere in the show.

934578_046

Another aspect of this show which I absolutely adore is the romance. I have a soft spot for crime dramas especially those with potential love lines. It is actually very hard to find a crime show (in kdrama land anyway) with potential love lines that developed properly. However, it is hard to dismiss the chemistry oozing out from our couples of this show- The Waige Couple (Walter and Paige), the Quintis Couple (Happy and Toby) and the Melvester Couple (Megan and Sylvester).

c7bb981683a30663489c2f792db696dc

My ship is definitely Quintis. Even though the other two couples deserve the same recognition in terms of chemistry between the actors, the Quintis Couple has a special place in my heart. I’m not sure if it’s because of the characters backstory or the fact that Happy is Asia (just joking….). I guess the fact that Happy didn’t have the courage to open up to someone and that Toby is the key to the lock in her heart really hit me. I just wanna give Happy a hug…….i mean she said it was her first time wearing perfume for a date….how cute! >~< Also I think Happy deserves a life just like her name.

Anyway to wrap it up, I’d really recommend this show to you guys if you like crime shows. It is a really enjoyable watch that I think should be added to your Christmas “To-watch list”. I personally found it really engaging and educational. I actually learned a lot of things that I didn’t know about before-there’s a country called Bosnia and a group of scorpions is called a cyclone of scorpions. I hope this review is helpful and sorry for not updating as often as I used to>~<”

Thank you guys for reading and I hope you like this review. It was so fun watching this show and I’m afraid I’m having withdrawal symptoms! Gotta go read that fanfic! 😛 Let me know in the comments if you like this show and see you soon!^^

Leave a Reply

