First Impression: Liar Game (Korean Drama) Episode 1

Liar_Game_(Korean_Drama)-p1

Cast: 

  • Lee Sang Yoon as Cha Woo Jin
  • Lim So Eun as Nam Da Jung
  • Shin Sung Rok as Kang Do Young

Episode 1:

Long Time no see guys:) Liar Game is the most recent drama I’ve seen and it’s just so awesome that I want to share my thoughts in the post. This drama is actually based on a popular manga and Japanese drama with the same name and that’s why it is such a heated topic among drama-lovers now. Just to let you know, I’ve never read the manga or watch the Japanese anime so my opinions won’t be based on that.

So, what are my first thoughts when I finished this drama? The answer is “Never Trust Anyone” which is the what Cha Woo Jin lectured his students in class on the very first scene. I really like that  scene in particular because it really set the whole being-suspicious-of-everyone atmosphere of the drama. I’m also pretty sure that this is the lesson of this episode. It doesn’t matter if the person is a family member, close friends or teachers, the lie at some point and even we lie ourselves. It makes sense totally but I don’t think this should be taught to little kids. lol

Now when I first heard the title of this drama, I didn’t really expect it to be an actual game that is being broadcast on TV so I was pleasantly surprised. I think this is a genius idea because we get to see the reaction of the audience in the drama as Da Jung is playing the actual game and it’s fun to see the contrast/similarities between our reactions. I don’t really think this is a spoiler because it was pretty obvious but if you are a spoiler-hater, turn away for the second half of this post!

Please tell me I’m not the only one who figured out that Da Jung’s teacher was conning her before even the game started? It was clear that that the teacher was going to trick her but trying to find out how he does it is really fun. I’ve been wondering how people will actually be deceived if they know it is a game of tricks. I guess Da Jung had a legit reason to trust her teacher since when I saw how he helped her in the past, I can’t help but left out a “awww, he must be the sweetest teacher in the world.”

Since I’ve only seen the first episode, I don’t know the characters that well but I have a hunch that I’m going to like the both male leads. Actually scratch that, I love them already! They are both mysterious and I’m just dying to know their pasts! I swear the show better show us what happened to them before like why Woo Jin is in the prison, etc. or I’m going flip some tables! So far I think this drama is promising and I definitely will continue watching it. I would recommend it to everyone really since I really enjoyed this episode. I hope you guys will like it as well^^

So here’s a little liar game of my own-two truths and one lie~ 1. I’m going to South Korea next summer. 2. I have become a vegetarian. and 3. I ditched my school’s awards night for a kpop society event. Tell me in the comments below which statement do you think is a lie?Thank you and see you soon (hopefully):P

3 thoughts on “First Impression: Liar Game (Korean Drama) Episode 1

  1. i’ve been reading the manga and well, after reading the first half of the post (even though i’m quite far in the manga, i was scared of some spoilers that might tell me stuff i didnt know) i’m definitly going to watch it!!! i was scred that maybe they changed too much from the manga, but from reading it… i dont think they did, thanks so much!!!!!! off to go watch it now :3 as well as Modern Farmer, are you planning on doing a first impression on it as well?

    • Yes! Totally! But Modern Farmer is garnering too much attention now with its controversies so I plan to do a First Impression on Blade Man first. Have you watched Modern Farmer already? Seems like you are eager to talk about it:P
      Is the manga good? I want to read it as well actually but I don’t want spoilers so I might read it after the drama finishes~

      • i’ve watched the first 2 episodes of Modern Framers last night after i reviewed here… hahaha it’s really funny and light-hearted, kinda exaggerated but it’s fun 🙂 The cast is really good too!
        Is Blade Man good? i think i might watch it too… i dont know yet…
        The manga is super good! all the psychology and mind games :3 you should read it if you have time! the art may not be the best, but the plot certainly makes up for it!

Leave a Reply

