K-drama Review: You’re All Surrounded!

13899020674_bcecbc92ea_b

Title: You’re All Surrounded!

Cast:

  • Lee Seung Gi as Eun Dae Gu
  • Cha Seung Won as Seo Pan Seok
  • Go Ara as Eo Soo Sun
  • Ahn Jae Hyeon as Park Tae Il
  • Park Jung Min as Ji Gook
  • Sung Ji Ru as Lee Eung Do
  • Oh Yoon Ah as Kim Sa Kyung
  • Seo Yi Sook as Kang Seok Soon

Synopsis: 

Four detective rookies enter the Gangnam Police Station, each for their own reason. The drama explores the troubles they cause as rookies and it also tells the darker and corrupted side of the police station.

My Thoughts:

aa21e03f0000179589207b7d72f87d13

This drama disappointed me big time. I’m currently loss for words. I have the same problem with Doctor Stranger which also starts off great and just keeps circling around to a ball of mess. To be honest, I didn’t really expect much from the description of the drama but since Lee Seung Gi is one of my favorite actors out there, I had to at least try. I was blown away by the first episode because the teasers made the drama more like a comedy than the serious type of detective crime drama. I didn’t think there would be such a tragic start. I have to say I cried watching the first episode but nothing goes right afterwards. *sigh*~

youre-surrounded-ahn-jae-hyun

This drama really takes police/detective incompetence to a whole new level, taking twenty episodes to solve one single case. Sure, you can argue that they are rookies but they have the “legendary” Seo Pan Seok as well as a witness (Eun Dae Gu) on their side so they should be at an advantage. I really think they could take up to 50 episodes to solve the case if Seo Pan Seok and Eun Dae Gu weren’t there. Still, that doesn’t mean that they are any better than others. It’s just because they have more understanding of the Masan Nurse Case.

398747

Usually I’m not as fussy with the plot as long as other aspects of the drama is good but the characters are a disappointment too. The drama focused on too much of Eun Dae Gu’s character that there wasn’t a chance for other rookies to take the spot light. At first I was really anticipating Tae Il’s character because it seemed like the script was suggesting that he is a gay character. Then it was a let down when he turns out to like Sa Kyung who is Seo Pan Seok’s ex-wife and current girlfriend. I mean WTH? It was so messed up!

Youre-All-Surrounded-6

Ji Gook is written to have a crush on Soo Sun but this failed attempt at making a love triangle just doesn’t work for me. No offense to Ji Gook but he wasn’t as threatening as he should be. Well, I don’t think he is supposed to anyway with all that Assemblyman Abyss. I feel bad for him because he is actually the only character that doesn’t have a background story thrown in to the drama. Not that it would make the drama better but it certainly would satisfy my curiosity.

cc32014-06-05-22h29m05s113

Another disappointing aspect of the drama is the chemistry of our main couple. I can endure anything but a couple with no chemistry! Though Seo Pan Seok and Sa Kyung made up for that. Okay I know I sound really negative now so let’s talk about something positive! Despite the zero chemistry, I really like some of the couple scenes. They are simple gestures but they can mean so much to the other person. I actually feel like some of the scenarios are pretty realistic and I’ve seen some scenes happening in real life before.

You're all surrounded 41

I would recommend this to die-hard Lee Seung Gi fans especially for those of you who long for his shirtless body or him in a uniform. It is an okay drama for me. I blame all the disappointment on the anticipation of dramas since I haven’t been watching dramas to study my exams. All in all, it was worth watching I guess if you don’t mind the nonsense dramaland logic. I didn’t regret watching it since it’s summer and I have lots of time but for those of you who are busy and want to want one that can really amaze you, I don’t think this drama is the one.

This drama really gave me hope but let me down in such a cruel way. Do you agree with me? I was so frustrated while watching this drama but nevertheless I still had the feeling of wanting to know what happens next. I guess in a way this is its charm. Thank you for reading and see you soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

