J-dorama Review: Hard Nut~

Image

Title: Hard Nut

Cast: 

  • Hashimato Ai as Nanba Kurumi
  • Kora Kengo as Tomoda Tatsuhiko
  • Yajima Kenichi as Aoyama Masahiro
  • Namioka Kazuki as Takagaki Jun
  • Katsumura Masanobu as Kobayashi Koji
  • Hino Tatsuya as Yoshikura
  • Hashimoto Mami as Takano Saori
  • Okano Maya (岡野真也) as Asao Natsuko
  • Okochi Hiroshi (大河内浩) as Gondo Atsunori
  • Motoi Hiroyoki (本井博之) as Morisaki

Synopsis: 

Kurumi Nanba is a maths major at a prestigious university who meets Tomoda Tatsuhiko, a young detective when he came to look for her professor during a bombing case. Nanba worked as her professor’s substitute and helps to solve cases with Tomoda.

My Thoughts:

When I first read the synopsis, I thought Nanba would be cold like Yukawa, the physics Professor from Galileo because Nanba is described as a “weirdo” who has poor communication skills. I also thought this drama would be somewhat like Galileo since it is both about solving cases by getting help from experts from a particular field so I was pretty surprised how different it is. I picked this drama to watch because of familiarity but this came out to be a fresh drama.

LIke Galileo, I learned a lot while watching this such as the relationship between maths and music and I have to admit that I’m fascinated by it. I was having so much fun watching this drama but the lack of romance contribute to my dissatisfaction towards this drama. I don’t hate it when there is no romance but I hate it when a drama starts a potential love line and just ignore it at the end of the drama like nothing happen. It’s like I’m a fish that is caught by a hook. The fisherman doesn’t take me out of water and die of a fast, painless death but instead he lets me bleed to death slowly while being hooked under water.

I know that the drama focuses on the cases but there is too much of the lack of development of the characters. Nanba is weird as hell from start to finish and even though Tomoda is not cold, he is not all smiles either. It’s just really hard to make out each character’s personality because 1. there isn’t enough time and 2. they don’t show it to us. I just hope that they would show us more about the character’s past and other relationship with people because it seems like Tomoda and Nanba are together all the time.

If I was watching this just for the cases I would give that a 9 out of 10 but if I include the characters and other aspects of the drama, I would only give this a 6.5 out of 10. If you want to watch something with suspense and mystery, this would be for you but for the rom-com fans out there, there is nothing to watch. Putting all the characters or plot aside, who can tell me the meaning of the title of the drama? It cracks me up when I first saw the title and the fact that AsianWiki has to put “literal title” beside the title…xD

Anyway, if you have the answer, please tell me in the comment section below. I’m sorry that I can’t blog as often these days, I am preparing for a state exam in June so I can only blog once or twice a week. Thank you for reading this post and I hope you like it^^

2 thoughts on “J-dorama Review: Hard Nut~

Leave a Reply

