K-Movie Review: Commitment

Image

Title: Commitment 

Main Cast: 

  • T.O.P as Ri Myung-Hoon
  • Han Ye Ri as Lee Hye In
  • Kim Yoo Jung as Ri Hye In
  • Yoon Je Moon as Cha Jung Min
  • Cho Seung Ha as Moon Sang Chul
  • Park Sung Woong as Myung Hoon’s Dad

Synopsis: 

Myung Hoon, a North Korean spy, is sent to South Korea for a particular mission. He agreed to do so because this is the only way he can save his sister, Ri Hye In. He is living in South Korea under the guise of a North Korean defector. He goes to school and he sits beside a girl who has the same name as his sister. He takes a special interest in her and even helps her when she was being bullied. Meanwhile, Myung Hoon finds himself in trouble as his home country is giving up on him.

My Thoughts:

Okay~all those VIPs and T.O.P’s fanboys and fangirls that are out there, please turn away from this post. As much as I love T.O.P and Big Bang, this movie doesn’t deserve the praise that it gets from everyone I know. I’m not sure if I had too much expectations from this movie or if the movie is just bad. It’s such a pity because I was anticipating this a lot and I swear I’m not biased because 1. I Loove T.O.P and 2. My brother who watched this with me agreed and he’s a T.O.P fanboy.

The first thing that bothered me was how the scenes were set out. It was very confusing as it keeps on jumping from one scene to another and there wasn’t enough time for the charaacters to develop. Since the characters themselves are not developed, it was hard for me to get into them and their relationship with others as well. There were so many events and I found it hard to follow.

I didn’t know that some of the translation of the movie was wrong so I guess that’s why I was so confused but that does not help the fact that the characters are under-developed. I know it isn’t fair to judge on the movie without fully understanding it but I am just not interested to see the movie again. I’m sorry to say this because T.O.P actually improved his acting since his last drama (that I’ve watched), Iris.

I don’t really know what else to say because I am just so disappointed. I have to say that there are definitely some parts that are awesome such as T.O.P’s action-packed scenes and his warm moments with the ajumma but I was so clouded by the unsatisfying ending and the complicated events that I completely forgot about the good things in this movie. Seriously!? The ending was unexpected and usually for those kinds of scenes I would have an emotional breakdown but I just didn’t feel as much in this movie.

Overall this movie was an okay one but I wouldn’t watch it again. It is such a pity because when I first heard of the plot, I thought it was pretty interesting and I saw lots of potential in the plot. It is a such a waste how the development of the plot turned out . I hope you guys don’t mind that I’m being too straightforward and honest. I guess I’m being harsh because I was expecting a lot. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone unless if they have plenty of free time or if they are hardcore T.O.P fans. You will be confused and be WTF?! throughout the movie a lot. And I mean A LOT. You have been warned. It is up to you to decide if you want to watch it or not but it is best to stay away from it in my opinion. I love T.O.P and so now I’m super frustrated right now.

What do you guys think? Do you agree with me? If you don’t, tell me in the comments your argument. I am finally done my exams! So please look forward to more of my post this week^^ Thanks for reading this review and I hope you guys like it:D

Leave a Reply

