Anime Review: Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge

Image

Title: Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge/ The Wallflower

My Rating: 9/10 Turtles

Synopsis:

After being called ugly and rejected by her first love, Sunako turns away from anything “beautiful”. She doesn’t dress up and has long bangs to cover her face. To help her niece, Sunako’s aunt decides to get her four handsome tenants to make Sunako into a lady.

My Thoughts: 

The style of the anime drawings is very different to what I am used to and the lips of the male characters were really bugging me but I got used to it after a few episodes. Seriously though, the male characters really reminded me of my brother because of the thick lips that are on the guys. I cringed looking at that for the first time but I watched it because I saw lots of Top 10 anime lists and this anime is always on it.

This anime is one of the weirdest I’ve ever seen if not the weirdest. It is just unusual and the main female lead is not your typical anime character who is kind but has a major flaw e.g. clumsy or stupid. Sunako has a “dark” past which makes her who she is and she’s been living like that for ages until her aunt decides to help her to become a lady. Sunako is not someone that we can relate to that much (well at least me anyways) because she doesn’t open up herself that much. She wears bangs to cover her face and she locks herself into her own room to avoid contact with the “bright” outside world. I think this is why when someone finally reaches out to her (even though it was for the free rent) she was finally able to reveal her true self too.

I think the reason that Sunako can connect with Kyohei the best is because even though Kyohei is handsome, there are burdens he need to carry as well. I can’t imagine in real life a person that is so beautiful that he has to move out of his own house because his parents are sick of the girls that are gathering outside the house but it did in the anime so I can’t question it. I really like them as a couple and I think they really suit each other. They are so cute since they help each other to soothe the pain of their trauma and Sunako can finally be a lady because of Kyohei.

I love this anime because it is so different from the “normal” anime and it’s just full of randomness of a whole new level. I also like the horror element as well and “mabushi” will definitely become one of my everyday vocabulary from now on. Of course I will never forget our mannequin Hiroshi. How can anything get weirder than this? Did I mention that Sunako sleeps in a coffin? Yeah~ that’s definitely normal!

In short, this is a must-watch anime for anime fans. This is definitely for girls but my brother watched it as well so guys can watch it too. This anime can be bloody (from nosebleeds) so some of you watch out! It was so fun to watch this anime so I’m sure you will feel the same.

What do you guys like about this anime? Tell me in the comment section^^ Sorry guys for not being active for so long>< I was really busy studying for my Christmas exam and then there’s Christmas~ but now I’m free!!! I missed merry christmas but I hope you enjoy Christmas! Thank you for reading my post and I hope you enjoy it:D

Leave a Reply

