Kdrama: That Winter, the Wind Blows Review~

Image

Title: That Winter, the Wind Blows

Main Cast:

  • Zo In Sung as Oh Soo
  • Song Hye Kyo as Oh Young
  • Kim Bum as Park Jin Sung
  • Jung Eun Ji as Moon Hee Sun
  • Bae Jong Ok as Wang Hye Ji
  • Kim Tae Woo as Zo Moo Cheol
  • Kim Kyu Cheol as Jang Sung
  • Kim Young Hoon as Lee Myung Ho 
  • Seo Hyo Rim as Jin So Ra
  • Im Se Mi as Son Mi Ra
  • Choi Seung Kyung as Sim Joong Tae

My Rating: 9.5/10 Turtles

Synopsis: 

Oh Soo is best-friends with another Oh Soo, who is the long lost brother of the rich blind heiress Oh Young. Oh Soo is framed by his girlfriend for embezzlement because she is going abroad for a year and doesn’t want to lose Oh Soo. Oh Soo meets Oh Young before his escape from the police. The Brother Oh Soo dies in an car accident in front of Oh Young while trying to help Oh Soo escape. Oh Soo is still caught by the police and he is sent to prison for a year.

A year later, Oh Soo is out of the prison but he has to pay back the embezzlement or he will die on the hands of Moo Cheol, a gangster. Meanwhile, Lawyer Jang, a close acquaintance of Oh Young is looking for Oh Young’s brother and he comes across Oh Soo. Oh Soo decides to pretend to be Oh Young’s brother and con Oh Young to pay back the embezzlement.

My Thoughts: 

That-Winter-The-Wind-Blows-korean-dramas-33482105-1280-720

When I first read the synopsis of this drama I swear I watched a similar drama from somewhere else which I can’t quite remember. I went for it and just as I thought, it is not bad at all. Just from looking at the cast I knew that this is an awesome drama so I started it without hesitation. I just finished this a week ago and since I was busy with the recap, I didn’t have time until now.

sbs-that-winter-the-wind-blows-press-conference

First of all the acting in this drama is no doubt, stunning. As expected with top actors like Zo In Sung and Song Hye Kyo this drama is very well portrayed but Jung Eun Ji impressed me the most. At first I didn’t know that she is an idol actress so I didn’t have any prejudice against. She has successfully impressed me with her natural acting skills! Usually I focus mainly on the main actors but I found my eyes following in every scene she is in so props to this new actress for making this drama even better for me!

jhbjpsg7ldfom5rimjga

Oh Soo is a character you would sympathize with but I don’t feel any of it. He was thrown away by his parents like trash and he just decides to live like trash. Listen Oh Soo, if you are thrown away like that it doesn’t mean you should live like trash! Instead you should live well to let your parents regret throwing you away! I just hate when people use their bad experiences as excuses to do something bad or give up. To me, Oh Soo is no different from the villains of other dramas I watched who use their scarred past as their excuses to be evil.

That_Winter_The_Wind_Blows-0011

On the other hand, Oh Young is not someone that I completely like either. She gives up her life too easily when there are other people fighting so hard for their lives. I think this is why Oh Young and Oh Soo are meant to be together. Both of them fills up for each other’s weaknesses and that’s why Oh Young decides to do the surgery and Oh Soo decides to not live like a walking zombie. In this aspect of the drama, this one thing that pleases me the most.

You know the way dramas always give you some kind of life lessons, in this case, it teaches me that not every one is perfect and that couples are matched because they help each other’s weaknesses with their own strengths. Kinda like – and – equals to a + in maths if you get what I mean.

That-Winter-The-Wind-Blows-4

Kim Bum is superb in this drama and I adore his character because of how loyal he is! But then at the end………..well, let’s just say I didn’t expect him to do what he did just because of Hee Sun. I mean, you see in the drama how protective he is of Oh Soo, even to the point where he slaps Hee Sun for revealing Oh Soo’s secret. So he just caught me by surprise at the end. Side Note, I want to congratulate Kim Bum for finally dating! *claps* I was kinda sad when he didn’t end up with Moon Geun Young in Goddess of Fire but I guess he manage to date her in real life instead^^

that-winter-the-wind-blows-korean-dramas-33719742-1280-720

It is very heart-breaking to see Oh Soo lie to Oh Young while Oh Young completely trusts him. But then if all of that doesn’t happen then Oh Young would have never fallen for Oh Soo. Now that I think about it, it is actually weird how Oh Young falls for Oh Soo. She thinks of Oh Soo as a brother until he kisses her secretly but like just one kiss and she’s in love? I know you can argue that Oh Young has already fallen in love with Oh Soo and that the kiss is when Oh Young realize that her love for Oh Soo isn’t just siblings-kind-of-love but still. Isn’t it too fast?

photo288623

Another thing that frustrates me in this drama is the fact that Oh Young trusts others too easily. It doesn’t seem like it if you look at her attitude to Secretary Wang but to Oh Soo’s dark secrets is revealed one at a time and it seems so fast how she can trust Oh Soo again. But I still like it though. I feel like a hypocrite because whenever relationships are slow, I call the drama dragged out but now in this case I think that Oh Young trusts Oh Soo to fast. Hmmm…..I think I need some consultation:P I don’t even know what I want!

winter16-00720

*SPOILER* The ending of this drama definitely disappoint me though:( It just seems very silly how Oh Soo has to hide from Oh Young even after all that. Oh Young’s eyes are sort of okay but we don’t really know because she is okay one minute and the next she sees Oh Soo and calls him handsome O.o I’m easily confused by things like that and I hate it when things are unclear and complicated. The ending might be artsy but it is definitely not my cup of tea.  *SPOILER ENDS*

thatwinter

I think this drama is unquestionably one of the “Classic” kdrama with the whole brother/sister thing and the girl being blind. Compared to Stairway to Heaven, this is definitely less tragic so if you are looking for something similar to Stairway to Heaven, this drama is certainly for you. The cast and acting is amazing, the plot is well enough and the chemistry of the main romance is surely there so I would recommend this drama to any Kdrama addicts, as well as any one that is just starting to watch dramas. This is absolutely one that hooks you into the world of Kdramaland!

What is your opinion on Oh Soo and Oh Young’s romance? Do you think the ending is a bit silly as well? Comment below and let me know! You are also welcome to share your opinions with me:D Thank you for reading my review and I hope this can help you^^

Leave a Reply

