Empress Ki-First Impression~

Image

Title: Empress Ki

Cast:

  • Ha Ji Won as Ki Seung Nyang
  • Joo Jin Mo as Wang Yoo
  • Ji Chang Wook as Ta Hwan
  • Baek Jin Hee as Tanasili
  • Kim Jung Hyun as Dan Ki Se
  • Cha Do Jin as Top Ja Hae
  • Kim Young Ho as Baek Ahn
  • Choi Moo Sung as Park Bool Hwa
  • Lee Moon Sik as Bang Shin Woo
  • Lee Jae Yong as Wang Go

My Thoughts:

Image

The first few episodes of this drama is so far so good. I’m kinda disappointed now because I already know that my ship (Seung Nyang and Wang Yoo) is not going to be together. And just in case you don’t know, it tells you that in the summary and the start of episode 1 obviously gave it away. I’m still anticipating some Seung-Nyang and Wang Yoo moments though.

Image

I watched this drama because of Ha Ji Won but I didn’t know that it has 50 episodes so now I’m trapped! Usually I don’t watch dramas that have 30+ episodes because it’s just too long for me. But this drama really hooked me from the start and I don’t think I’ll be able to give it up especially since it is a Ha Ji Won drama.

Image

As you can tell by now, I’m quite satisfied with this drama. It has the elements that grabs your attention- the amazing cast, the eye-catching plot and the early romance of the drama. The thing I’m worried about is that I hope the drama will not be dragged out. I mean this is a fantastic drama from the start and I hate it when it fails me at the end.

Image

There is a cross-dressing element in this drama so it makes it more interesting. My brother criticizes this but I disagree with him because in ancient times it is actually normal for a girl to disguise as a boy in order to escape being concubines of nobles. On the other hand though the modern cross-dressing is the one that I don’t get but since it is fun to watch, I don’t mind at all. What do you guys think?

Image

Seung Nyang is definitely the character that I like from the start. She is strong, tough and badass and she really represents what women is capable of at that time. She is very head-strong and determined. Since we get to see her past from the very beginning, I can empathize with her.

Image

Ta Hwan, the soon-to-be-Emperor-of-Yuan is the character that I hate. I know that he has a tragic past but he is just too dependent on others and too selfish. I suppose you can argue that he was brought up this way but I still don’t fancy him at all.

Image

Wang Yoo then is better than Ta Hwan but I don’t like him completely. There is just something that blocks me from liking his character fully. However, I think I can’t judge any of the characters yet because I’ve of seen a few episodes.

These are really the only characters that I have the information to talk about a little so far. Again, I haven’t watched enough episode to judge on others but Wang Go is a villain alright.

Image

At first I’m actually worried about how the story will go because lots of important things happened-Wang Yoo-Seung Nyang / Ta Hwan-Seung Nyang’s first meeting, Seung Nyang’s past is revealed, Seung Nyan found her father, Ta Hwan is being attempt-assassinated twice, etc. I thought there would be too much time for other things to happen but so far the episodes are very “to-the-point” and “concentrated”. It is full of information so I didn’t skip one bit.

Image

I think my first impression of the Empress Ki is generally positive and I am looking forward to more episodes. I will definitely continue watching until the end and I would recommend it to fellow drama-addicts to watch that even if it’s a bit too long. If you are interested in Korean history you will definitely like it. It has rich historical facts and you get to see the ancient Korean embroidery attire which I think is absolutely beautiful. What I like about it as well is that it has romance from the start, not like your typical short dramas which doesn’t show until episode 7/8 usually. There will definitely more and I can see it coming- Seung Nyang going back and forth from Wang Yoo and Ta Hwan.

What do you guys think of Empress Ki? Do you like the cross-dressing element or are you sick of it? Tell me in the comments below:D Thanks for reading and I hope you like my post^^

2 thoughts on “Empress Ki-First Impression~

  1. I’ll have to check out Empress Ki soon. Ha Ji Won is always great! I admit though that historical dramas aren’t usually my favorite. So many good dramas to watch, so little time!

    • Haha I know~ I don’t have that much time as well so what I do is I watch the dramas as the are airing so I don’t have that many episodes to watch at the same time. When a drama is finished and I watch it from the start, I can watch up to 7 episodes per day and that’s crazy! I love your blog! Thank you so much for following and reading my post^^

Leave a Reply

