Kdrama: The Master’s Sun Review~

Image

Title: The Master’s Sun

Main Cast:

  • So Ji Sub as Joo Joong-Won 
  • Kong Hyo Jin as Tae Kong-Sil
  • Seo In Guk as Kang Woo
  • Kim Yoo Ri as Tae Yi Ryung
  • Choi Jung Woo as Kim Gwi Do
  • Kim Mi Kyung as Joo Sung Ran
  • Lee Jong Won as Do Seok Chul
  • Park Hee Von as Tae Gong Ri

My Rating: 9.5/10 Turtles

Synopsis:

Tae Gong Sil was a bright student who was good at literally everything but everything changes when she got into an accident abd begins to see ghosts.

Joo Joong Won is the CEO of the shopping mall Kingdom. He is arrogant and relates every thing to money. The most important thing to him is Kingdom and money. However, behind his facade, he has a tragic past that haunts him for years.

Gong Sil meets Joong won one night and discovers that whenever she touches him, the ghosts she sees disappears. Since Joong Won is her safety zone, she is sticking to him since.

My Thoughts:

Image

This is truly an amazing drama. Last year’s dramas didn’t do well for me so I was thinking of giving up but the standard of this year’s dramas did not disappoint me at all. From the Gu Family Book to I hear your Voice and now this!? I think I am dying of drama goodness here! Even the plot, the cast and OST are good. What more can you expect out of a drama?

Image

The plot itself already hooked me from start of this drama. It was new and refreshing, the ghost theme does remind me of the movie “Chilling Romance” though but the characters were totally different. I really like how it was about the ghost’s troubles and helping them instead of horror related. I did however, get really scared of the ghosts the first time I see them but only at the start. Now whenever I hear some kind of noise or unusual movements, I associate it with ghost.

Image

I love Gong Sil’s character though I thought at the start that her smiles are creepy. She was so mysterious and I just wanted to know more and more about her. Whenever she helps the ghosts, I can see that she’s scared but she still does it because that who she is. I especially like her when she something to literally and make it sound wrong. Those moments were hilarious!xD

Image

I didn’t like Joong Won at the start and I was totally shipping Kang Woo and Gong Sil but now I think Joong Won is made for Gong Sil (though sometimes I miss the cute moments between Kang Woo and Gong Sil).Joong Won is actually really kind ,I think he was acting stingy because he wanted to focus something so he wouldn’t hurt as much from the Cha Hee Joo incident.  I love how he’s the special one to Gong Sil but I so freaking want to know why! But they never explain it:(

Image

I think Kang Woo is the best supporting character of the year!He was so cool in fight scenes! It broke my heart when I had to give up on his ship but I guess it doesn’t matter because he still got Yi Ryung. I really pity Yi Ryung because she was always belittling herself but it’s okay! You are the big Tae Yang to Kang Woo:D

Image

The romance in this drama is very diverse. We have ghostly romance between Gong Sil and Joong Won, celebrity romance between Yi Ryung and Kang Woo, coffee romance between Gong Ri and Han Joo and even bickering romance with Sung Ran and Seok Chul. I love every single one of them and it’s nice to see dramas with different couples instead of just one main couple.

Image

I actually thought Gong sil’s sister, Gong Ri was very underrated.She should’ve gotten more scenes since she is one of the important characters. If she didn’t get her romance, I would’ve personally kill the screen writer but since she did, good for her^^

Image

The ending was a bit weird but it wasn’t bad. I imagined an ending totally different form this one.I imagined Gong Sil kissing with Joong Won and the camera does a 360 spin revealing ghosts that surrounds them while clapping hands and cheering for them. Ah well, this ending is good too. At least I got the kissing bit right:D

Image

I would recommend this to any Asian drama fans.You wouldn’t want to miss out on this drama goodness but don’t watch it if you are scared of ghosts( even if you are, gather your courage because you seriously wouldn’t want to miss this). However, I do warn you to not watch this at 2am in the morning. I seriously nearly pissed myself. The OST from this drama is just excellent and I already have it on my phone. This drama was so perfect in many ways that I am lost for words now. Just watch it !

Tell me what you think of this drama below:D thank you for reading and I hope this review helps^^

7 thoughts on “Kdrama: The Master’s Sun Review~

    • I am watching Inspiring Generation too! What do you think of it? I’m not that interested but I’m hanging on because of my friend. I guess I’m a little biased though. There are people who hate sagueks but the particular era that I hate is the 19th and 20th century. That’s why I never watched the Reply series and Bridal Mask despite many positive reviews. But in Inspiring Generation’s case, I guess I really expected a lot since my friend is OBSESS with it and eventually convinced me to watch it~ To me it was still just “meh”. I hope I don’t offend you if you really like that drama:P Again~ I’m biased since I don’t like that era~

      • I do understand about biases. Just like you, I. haven’t watch a lot of dramas under this genre. The only thing that got me interested in watching this is Kim Hyun Joong. I find him gorgeous! LOL! Though he’s acting still needs to improve. But he is jut to beautiful to look at. 🙂

      • I do understand about biases. Just like you, I haven’t watch many dramas under this genre. The reason that got me interested in this one is actually Kim Hyun Joong. I just find him gorgeous! LOL!Though his acting needs some improvement but I just so love seeing him on screen.

  1. Now that I finished the 18 episodes of Inspiring Generation, I got to say that it actually was good to watch. The first few episodes was just confusing at first because of the number of cast members. Got to day that it’s raining men in this drama.

Leave a Reply

