Book Review: My Life in Black and White~

Image

Title: My Life in Black and White

My Rating: 8.5/10 Turtles

Synopsis:

Lexi is extremely beautiful and she’s been told all her life, her family, friends, strangers and even model scouts. But it all changes when she smashes her face in the windshield and she has to take skin off her butt and stitches it on her face. Her life is ruined. She has to deal with her scars on her face and the thing she saw her best friend and boyfriend did right before the accident.

My Thoughts:

This book is amazing! I don’t even know where to start……….I love this book  but I gave it a 8.5/10 because it was just so real. When I was reading this book, it was like REALITY smacked right at my face. I do enjoy this book but I read books so I can be in my ‘fantasy’ world while I pretend to be the main girl character but in this book I certainly wouldn’t want to be the main girl character.

I was reading this extract the other day about story-writing and it mentioned the elements you need in your book to capture the readers: interesting characters, a memorable beginning, character developments and an appropriate pace. I noticed that this book has all of them. Interesting characters( Lexi the pretty girl), a memorable beginning( she smashed her face into a windshield), character developments( how she deals with her scars) and an appropriate pace( well…..for this, it is hard to think of an example~ it just is:P)

It actually does have an appropriate pace. Lexi doesn’t recover mentally until after sometime so that’s good because if she recovers too quickly, it would not be convincing. If she recovers too slow, the story would be dragged out so I think the pace of the story id skillfully planned out.

I hope the book is not based on a real story because if it is, then I’d probably feel sad and disgusted by what people do in America. Seriously! I felt bad for the girl and all but damn at some point I thought I was reading an adult novel. I have to say it is actually part of her fault for doing something so stupid but I guess it is what people do in reality too. That’s why I said this is real.

I knew from the beginning that I would like Lexi’s character. She is very strong and brave. I know a lot of people probably think that facing your scars are easy and that Lexi should cop on but it is always easier said than done. I’m the first to admit that and so I admire Lexi for it. She did get help from the sister but so what?! Everyone needs someone to support them and this is life.

I’m glad that Lexi and Taylor are friends again and that Lexi even befriended Heidi. I think that’s what the book told me~ sometimes in life, your friends can become your enemy and your enemy can become your friends. Another thing I learned is that sometimes you have to lose what you think defines yourself to find your real self. I really appreciate books that give you useful life-long lessons and are entertaining. I think you should read this book if you like this type of book. Since this is pretty “real”, I cried a lot so for those who doesn’t like depressing (this is really for half of the book) books and those that like supernatural books, this book is not for you.

I hope you guys give it a try and if you already read the book, tell me what you think of it in the comments below:) thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy it^^

Leave a Reply

