Movie Review~Mortal Intruments: City of Bones The Movie

Image

I went to watch the first screening of Mortal Instruments : City of Bones at my local cinema on the 21st of August and here’s a review that I’m doing~

Cast:

  • Lily Collins as Clary 
  • Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace
  • Kevin Zegers as Alec
  • Jemima West as Isabelle
  • Robert Sheehan as Simon
  • Robert Maillet as Blackwell
  • Kevin Durand as Pangborn
  • Godfrey Gao as Magnus Bane 
  • Lena Headey as Jocelyn
  • Harry Van Gorkum as Alaric ( werewolf )
  • CCH Pounder as Madame Dorothea
  • Jared Harris as Hodge
  • Jonathan Rhys Meyers as Valentine
  • Aidan Turner as Luke
  • Stephen R. Hart as Brother Jeremiah

My Rating: 8/10 Turtles~

My Thoughts:

So first the cast~ When I first found out the cast list I wasn’t really impressed…….. I thought that the cast didn’t suit the characters and that they are missing lots of details, eg. Lily Collins doesn’t look 16, she doesn’t have green eyes, the cast has a British accent, etc.Back then I had lots of doubts about the movie~ but of course I was wrong^^ They all brought out the side of the characters they need and added unique style to it. It is different from what I imagined but I still like it~ It is like song/dance covers, many people do it but they are all different and nice in their own way. So I didn’t mind.

Then now on to the actual movie!~ Well……..how should I put it?……… Honestly speaking, I prefer the book way more than the movie. I think it is because they are trying to put 512 paged-book into a 2-hour movie? Lots of scenes were rushed and I just didn’t see Jace and Clary’s bond/chemistry as much as in the book. You can say their relationship is not as deep as in the book as well so at the end when they found out that they are brother and sisters I didn’t cry as much( yes~ I cried in the cinema but it wasn’t anything big, just 2/3 drops of tears running down my cheeks:P and yes~ I cried when I read the book, loud and messy like a baby:P I am quite emotional>B<)

For the changes, I kinda expected it since it is a movie made out of a book after all but seriously? Director,I think you are the worst at making choices. Clary being able to make new runes is a BIG thing that she discovers in City of Ashes. What are you going to do when you need to film City of Ashes? okay, nevermind. It will be interesting to see what they are going to do in the next movie.

I know I complained a lot but this is actually an awesome movie. For Mortal Instruments fans, you all have to watch it!!!(Of course ,just for the fact that you’re a fan, that reason is good enough!! and besides, you get to see the very hot kiss scene between Clary and Jace^^) Also the graphics are really good and the demons are so realistic! *whisper*I’ll tell you something, I’m actually really afraid of horror stuff, so when the demons popped out suddenly, I was so scared that I bent my friend’s nail in half and she killed me:P

So yeah~ you guys have to watch the movie and tell me what you think of it in the comments below^^ Hope you enjoy this review:D

Leave a Reply

