My Theory on Seo Hwa’s return in Gu Family Book

SPOILERS*

I’m recently watching Gu Family Book starring Lee Seung Gi and Suzy from Miss A. I literally just finished episode 15 two minutes ago and now I’m writing this post. So as the title describes, I’m going to discuss and summarise the return of Seo Hwa and my theory/conclusion on it. Here it is~

guga12-00713*

So near the end of episode 12, there’s a mysterious woman from Japan that is said to be the wife of the head of a secret organisation that Jo kwan-woong (the evil guy) is in. At first I thought she’s just gonna be a potential victim/love interest of Jo kwan-woong because he was eyeballing her so I didn’t take any particular notice in her. On to the next episode!~

The next episode the Mysterious lady doesn’t get much time but we know that she seems to know Soo-ryun and had requested her to do the drum dance which she didn’t do for almost ten years now. Mysterious Lady still hasn’t reveal her face.

guga14-00184 guga14-00182

Episode 14~ Soo-ryun did her drum dance but Mysterious lady wasn’t satisfied and get up to leave. Chung-jo defended Soo-run and demanded to know what was lacking in her dance. She answers with perfect Korean, saying that the performance had no soul. Her perfect Korean surprised everyone(including me~ I really expected her to be a real Japanese).Jo kwan-woong and I are both suspicious…..hmmm….

Soo-ryun went to Mysterious lady to apologies but it turns out that the Mysterious lady liked it but she only said it was terrible because she wanted meet Soo-ryun privately.She asks if she can visit the gisaeng house but Soo-ryun turns her down saying the only way to enter a gisaeng house as a woman is to become a gisaeng or be the head of the gisaeng house~

guga14-00469

Bath scene! We can only see her back but it is enough for us to guess who she is. Her bare back shows a gisaeng tatto and a scar that looks like it is caused by claws digging in her shoulder…..DUN DUN DUNN!!! * Seo Hwa * is the first thing that crossed my mind~

guga15-00199

Episode 15 – Mysterious Lady watches as Tae seo wanders around the Hundred Year Inn and she comments that if her son is still alive he would be the same age as Tae seo.

guga15-00840

Tae soe was approached by Mysterious Lady’s assistant and he went to see her. She asked if he’s curious about her and she admitted that she is curious about him as well and the scene ends with her unveiling herself for th first time. Wait…what??…..That’s not Seo Hwa’s face….she’s not played by Lee Yeon Hee….What just happened!!!

So since she’s not played by Lee yeon hee I made up really what happened to her and I want to share it with you guys~

vlcsnap-2013-04-09-01h10m35s213 guga15-00840

I guess we all agree that Mysterious lady is Seo Hwa but what really happened? Let’s say Seo Hwa  actually died in second episode when she was stabbed and she goes to heaven. She still has regrets so she can’t get to heaven properly and makes a deal with the Jade Eperor just like Arang in Arang and the Magistrate. She is granted 3 month or something on earth to do whatever she regrets. She wants revenge on Jo kwan-woong ( I presume) so  she can’t have her own face so she borrowed someone else’s and the reason she still has her body is to prove that she is actually the Seo Hwa that was dead.

I know it sounds weird and it doesn’t make sense in a way but it’s it can’t really be her when she gets old , right? I mean Yoon Se ah isn’t really that old so I can’t really see the age differences. Also take Soo-ryun for example she has been there since the baby ( Kang Chi ) was born and she looks like she doesn’t even age one bit so if your talking about needing a new face because she got older~ then I think my theory is more convincing.

Gu-Family-Book-Poster_bc4

Anyway I just hope they have a good reason for Seo Hwa being alive whether this is really her and that she didn’t die or it is her soul in another body or just whatever is happening to her. The Gu Family Book is really enjoyable so I think you guys should see it. If you want to talk about the drama, just comment below^^

One thought on “My Theory on Seo Hwa’s return in Gu Family Book

  1. Your theory sounds cool!! it reminds me of the drama named 49 days. haha
    If the story is like that, it’ll be certainly more exciting ! anyway, i enjoy reading ur article ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

